California Sick Leave Law in Effect July 1

California’s new paid sick-leave law will be officially in effect on July 1. If you have employees, you need to be aware of what you need to do to be sure you are following the law properly. Here are six of the most frequently asked questions regarding the new law. Use the information below to draft your new policies and procedures.

How many hours are in three days?

According to the Department of Labor, each employer must provide their workers with three days of paid sick leave per year. This is equal to 24 hours. If your employees work 10 or 12-hour shifts, you are better to air on the side of caution and offer three full working days. If your employees work shifts that are shorter than eight hours, offer 24 hours of sick time.

What is “sick”?

Be very careful when asking an employee about their sickness. Your employees only need give written or oral notice for a sick time request. If you require a doctor’s note, you may be in violation of the law.

How much notice must an employer be given?

The new law is not clear on this. In general, you should be very cautious about requiring a given amount of time for an employee to notify you of illness or injury. If last-minute call-offs become habitual with an employee, you may want to investigate. If it is infrequent, let it go.

When does sick leave have to be paid?

You do not have a grace period when it comes to paying an employee’s sick time. It must be paid on the next payday following the time off.

How do I build a sick bank?

Employers have options here. You can either front-load three days-worth of sick leave, or you can allow employees to accrue it over time. Be aware that if you front load sick time as of July 1, you will have to pay it out, just like any other paid time off, if your employee quits or is terminated.

If you have more questions regarding this new California law, it is recommended that you speak to your company’s attorney or your human resources department. Following the law is not difficult, but it is something that may require some fine-tuning of the policies you already have in place.

If you have been injured or charged with a crime, please contact our offices as soon as possible. Our attorneys are here to help you. Call today for a free consultation.

Photo Credit

Leave a Reply